Still You

Hey you. 

You’ll never read this space, never in a million years. But this is all I’ve got to say to you.

I haven’t forgotten you and I honestly don’t think I will, for the next few years to come. The day I first met you, probably meant nothing to you, I don’t think you noticed me, but something in my world changed. 

Then I realised my feelings and I withdrew. Far back into that cocoon where it was safe. Except that I didn’t emerge from the cocoon all metamorphosised and beautiful. I was the same old me. And it was the end of us. Like I singlehandedly killed off our relationship. 

It was the best few months, knowing you. Having you there for two big events in my life, I’m happy enough. Even if they are to remain memories.

I’ll never forget your beautiful eyes, your voice, your smile. And how could I possibly fail to mention your little tail of hair at the back of your head? That’s the part of you I notice the most because I’m always looking from where you can’t see me, far behind you, cloaked in a wisp of a shadow. But it doesn’t matter, as long as I get to be there.

I don’t think this is love, but I don’t know what else it can be. But I want you to know that it’s always been you.

x

Char

Leave a Reply

