Street party

Today, the Yuhua constituency closed AN ENTIRE ROAD for our street party (which just ended). So my parents & I decided to go take a look after our dinner at aunt’s house. AND IT TURNED OUT TO BE ONE OF THE BEST DECISIONS WE EVER MADE‼️‼️‼️ The atmosphere was totally cool and “hyped” with many food stalls and entertainment like a bouncy castle and games stalls. AND some cute deejay who was hosting & celebs as well!!!! 

Anyway they were singing old cantonese songs which I had no idea how to sing but I just followed for one line or two and I got damn hyped up LOL I think the PRC guy (I think) beside us was judging me but eh who cares yeah we’re supposed to have a good time!!! Sadly we didn’t stay for too long bc it was RLY V HOT and I can’t tahan this kind of atmosphere yeah #princess LOL jk. But we left after a while and when we got home I was just sitting at my chair in my room AND THEY DECIDED TO BLAST THOSE PATRIOTIC SONGS. Count on Me Singapore, Home and EVERYTHING omg I just started tearing. Plus I also recorded all the songs on my phone cos I suddenly thought of how I wouldn’t celebrate NATIONAL DAY IN MY OWN COUNTRY for the next four years and I got v emotional. FOR SOMEONE WHO TRIED TO GET HER ENTIRE FAMILY TO BID FOR NDP TICKETS FOR ONE PARTICULAR YEAR (AND SUBSEQUENT YEARS IN LESS AGGRESSIVE MANNERS) YOU KNOW HOW BIG A DEAL THAT IS. 

Damnit, I love Singapore, I really do. I’m so thankful for everything Singapore has given me, a good education, bilingualism, a safe and secure home, EVERYTHING. One of the lines in the pro-SG songs struck a chord with me (LOL PUN) “Believe in yourself you’ve got something to share, show us all you really care, join in like we’ve never done before (Stand up, Stand up for Singapore)!” HELL it’s starting to sound like propaganda but these are 100% my true thoughts man I don’t think anyone can understand what I’m feeling now fully. 

Also would like to add that the response for the street party was q shitty tbh tho the emcee and celebrity was good but I think sgp adults don’t really like to let loose (at least not in public) and SING even tho it’s freaking SG50 celebrations I was like the only one singing OK kidding but still, seriously the response could have been better! I tried to sing loudly and influence but oh well it’s just one person’s effort yea. Hope it gets better!!! Good effort for organising tho I must admit this was the first Yuhua event I’ve been to in a while and I remember the days where we’d just go downstairs and play w the other kids at the playground or during mooncake festival especially just playing with sparklers and lanterns and using the wax to make the candle stick onto the ground. Sigh, for how long that has been a “has-been” tradition now witj the stupid irrelevant electronic lanterns like UGH try harder PLS ur ruining ERRTHING just get out ur an embarrassment. Ok sorry this is turning into a nostalgic rant and still kind of sad so bye. 

// edit:

Oh my FREAKING GAD I forgot to add one more important part. Guess what people, after all the patriotic songs they put about 5 minutes of FIREWORKS right outside my freaking window!!!’nn it was literally just OUTSIDE THERE if I had infinitely long arms I could have reached out and gotten torched by the residual sparks (which I think I did) I WANTED TO CRY WHEN I SAW IT ACTUALLY I WANTED TO FILM IT (instinct) AND I DID FOR LIKE 1 min plus?? But it was too beautiful so I switched to pic then I gave up and just enjoyed it in silence which was rly nice. It was so so beautiful I could’t describe it possibly. I truly felt like it was SG’s gift to me (LOL TAXPAYER’S MONEY (hashtag econs)) tho it was for sg50 and i’m obv not sg but still yknow IT FELT LIKE IT WAS MY FAREWELL GIFT i couldn’t stop the tears from blurring my eyeballs I rly couldn’t I’m such a noob. THX SINGAPORE HAPPY EARLY 50TH BIRTHDAY AND THANK YOU MR LEE KY ALSO.

Ok now goodbye for real

Leave a Reply

