3/12

Been here about 3 weeks and it has been such an eye-opening experience. In a campus so big I get tired walking from one end to another, there was a lot of time to ponder about myself and the things around me. I’ve learnt that of course things will be different from what they were back home, what truly makes your experience is how you react to those differences. You can take it negatively, and compare in the worst way possible, how the people here are speaking an entirely different language altogether from you, how the weather sucks, how people don’t seem friendly, how the place isn’t what you imagined at all (trust me, been there done that) but you can also accept the differences and take it as a learning experience. 

I am so lucky to get to immerse myself in this environment. I see the leaves on trees turn orange in fall, I interact with people from different corners of the world. I learn their cultures and traditions and ways of life, first hand. Not just through reading some online article. I am so lucky!!! I’ve noticed that the people here dress so nicely even in autumn/winter, I’ve noticed the caucasians are hella friendly, such that I didn’t know how to respond to their vivaciousness, other than with a greeting & smile. But I’m learning. And I can’t think of how there could be a better opportunity to do so other than this. (This being when I’m thrown into a situation when I HAVE to) 

Currently I’m on a 20 min bus ride to town to get supplies and then eat asian food. AND it’s almost Friday. All that needs to happen is the next episode of HTGAWM and my life will be complete. 🙂 

X

Char

Leave a Reply

