So, guess what I did today?!? (Or don’t guess, whatever, I won’t even know and I don’t care either LEL SYKEEEEE) 

Anyway I watched Les Miz with the fam, as I said in yesterday’s post 🙂 

Verdict: it was great but not awesome, there are so many factors affecting how I felt about the musical eventually. Maybe cos I’ve literally been waiting for them to come perform in sg SINCE BIRTH (jk) but this was the factor that literally was a double edged sword for me. It made the musical good, in the sense that FRICK I WAS SEEING IT LIVE!!!! Yet also at the same time, fall short, because it didn’t sound EXACTLY like the soundtrack. Which is a weird thing to expect bc soundtracks and live musicals are totally opposite ends of the spectrum. Also, it was the Aussie cast so Idk how they fare in comparison to the original. I think I might catch Les Miz the next time I head to London, not even joking here. 

Some plus points were: 

-emotional performances by most characters (eg, Cosette/Fantine/Eponine (oh, Eponine baby) 

-great set!!!!! It was all very well made and timed, visual effects were good, props were superb & life-like PLUS they fired freaking blanks in the freakin’ theatre like, does that not deserve plus points for effort?!?!! 

-pronunciation of the lyrics (HAHAHAH) weird but ya the cd version we have I rly can’t understand some parts and now I know like 98% of the lyrics so kudos 2 u, mates!

-Humour fr the Master of the House & his wife LEL comedic duo pls, glad they peppered some humour here and there and the musical wasn’t entirely sombre & sad (except for Marius+Cosette parts)

Minuses tho:

-Marius & Cosette parts, exactly bc it’s so unrealistic to have love at first sight I found it hard to swallow when watching the scenes but that might be just me

-Marius’ voice(???) I can’t remember who exactly but it was definitely a male character, oh and that reminds me, the female leads were all really strong voices! (Eponine & Cosette esp)

-Lots of “talking” tone used even in the singing parts of the song which honestly made me rather annoyed but that could just be due to a diff style idk

Yup that’s all for the weighing but I still recommend it to anyone who enjoyed the movie about 2-3 years ago(?) and has a hundred bucks of 2 to shell out HAHA bc there’s really no point even going for a musical if you’re gonna get shit seats imo!! You have to see the set & characters properly to enjoy it in all it’s glory. Trust me, been there done there @ circle seats ps. you were hell @ 雨季 -_-

Gonna continue w some pics for now!!

Props to a great cast!!TicketsMe & dad!!!!Met feebs there who was sitting one row in front of us coincidentally!!!! Omg freaking destiny or something sia I was so amazed when I saw her (and my mum saw her before I did -_-)Nice font, hence pic
Next, we took a walk after kopi @ Toast Box lel, super lazy to caption cos it’s late and I’m tired OK. But thx Yang for the free Bux. 


It’s literally troublesome as heck to make pic posts on the iPhone so I’m just gonna add some notes here ya, add ons yaknow. Would like to add in that, we freaking (wow official fave word of the post, also known as “limited vocabulary” thanks everybody tenks) JOSTLED amidst the hundreds (joke) of tourists to get a good spot for the merlion photo, that is why I insist on uploading it here despite the unglam-ness. Hmm, and, it was a good feeling walking leisurely like a tourist in my own country, taking pictures. Without having the pressure to share/snap/upload anything bc I deleted everything on my phone!! Lastly, currently listening to some “TVB themes medley” on youtube, it’s so good leh. Which I understood canto more!! Their songs always have beaut melodies 🙂 

K byeee, upload soon! 

Leave a Reply

